Loved For Generations- Robin Williams May You Rest In Peace

It’s took awhile to get the strength to write this. My hubby woke me saying Robin Williams had died. I was in instant shock. I guess he was an actor that I would expect to live forever. He entertained three generations of my family. I thought someone so naturally funny could never have feelings of overwhelming depression. Apparent suicide the media tells us, death by asphyxiation.

Obviously I never really knew the man, never really knew what he was going through in his personal life.  I do however; know how depression can affect one’s mind, one’s world and create a sense of worthlessness, hopelessness and never-ending torture. Sometimes you feel the only way out of it, is to get out of it, and get out of it forever! I know I have been at this low point in life too many times to care for.  I got the help I needed and I am on a road to recovery. For some no matter how hard they try it easier for them to face the end!  For some there are insufficient support systems available.

  • Depression is not to be ignored, or pushed under the carpet. You simply can’t just get over it.
  • If you feel like you are depressed, contact a doctor, seek counselling, and talk to family and friends.
  • Remember you are not alone! There is always someone to talk to including several helplines, charities and organisations.
  • If you are prone to, or are suffering with depression a list of contact numbers, emergency numbers, and crisis numbers should be at hand.

Below are some links & numbers  to help:

http://www.nidirect.gov.uk/mental-health-emergency

Call lifeline free: 0808 808 8000.

Samaritans: 08457 90 90 90.

http://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/helplines/

10606185_10152556939483614_6041815465799302161_n

http://www.depressionuk.org/national_links.shtml

http://www.supportline.org.uk/problems/depression.php

http://www.depressionalliance.org/information/

http://www.mypartnerisdepressed.com/useful-links

http://www.nhs.uk/CarersDirect/guide/mental-health/Pages/emergency-mental-healthcare.aspx

I can honestly say I haven’t cried for an actor I don’t know personally. I have felt sadness of course, but real tears and this ache in my heart. I really feel for his family and for his friends and for the millions of fans that will be shedding genuine tears for this amazing man.

The words his wife spoke were simply beautiful and heart wrenching: “This morning, I lost my husband and my best friend, while the world lost one of its most beloved artists and beautiful human beings.”

I have had my talk about depression. I felt that is what I needed to do! Now I wish to commemorate the reasons why I love him so.

reel

 

An intelligent man he once played a psychologist to be exact. He guided Will, as Will in fact, was very good at math.

“You’ll never have that kind of relationship in a world where you’re afraid to take the first step because all you see is every negative thing 10 miles down the road.”

(Good Will Hunting 1997) My star rating 10/10

A journey with a robotic android who doesn’t want to be destroyed, emotions they do grow, you see this robotic man at time so low.

“In a sense I have. I am growing old, my body is deteriorating, and like all of you, will eventually cease to function. As a robot, I could have lived forever. But I tell you all today, I would rather die a man, than live for all eternity a machine.”

(Bicentennial Man 1999) My star rating 9/10)

Lonely photo lab technician imagines himself as Uncle Sy. He is odd and creepy makes us wonder why.

“And if these pictures have anything important to say to future generations, it’s this: I was here. I existed. I was young, I was happy, and someone cared enough about me in this world to take my picture.”

(One Hour Photo 2002) My star rating 9/10

A lie here and a lie there confuses all involved, but in the end A Big Wedding and all their problems solved.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tbZdcwdXH00 (The facial expressions!)

(The Big Wedding 2013) My star rating 6/10

The thing I will never ever forget is watching the clip with my best friend Kathryn Ross over and over and over again. His act and words always sends me into fits of giggles and it is my go to piece when things are low.  An amazing stand-up comedian! Watching it again, laughing and crying at the same time!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bi6fPwWuO9I

And this is just some of the work I have seen, he has an epic list. In 1997, he was voted the funniest man alive!

The evolution of Robin Williams  http://www.listal.com/list/evolution-robin-williams

He not only inspired me to laugh, but inspired me to look at things differently. Yes the film writers had a lot to do with the scripting and stuff, but the way he became the character. The way he was just naturally funny. Even in more serious types of films he made the audience relate to the character in such a way. I can’t say many actors do that.  His voices, expressionisms and mannerisms, just in every film have been top notch. He is a legend! Many of his films I have seen over and over again and they don’t get old, they will never get old. Still I write this I am gutted! Death comes to all eventually I know, but I guess being creative minded I do over analyse.

Not too long ago I came across a quote from him, having just moved to wine country myself, Bordeaux in France I thought it most appropriate and hilarious. “I went to rehab in wine country just to keep my options open.”

I read this quote on a friend’s Facebook status the other day not sure where she got the quote from, but thought it was amazing.

“ROBIN Williams DIDNT die of Suicide!

Just as a pulmonary edema may be to cancer in the lung

Robin Williams DIED OF DEPRESSION not suicide

God love him, far too many people DIE OF DEPRESSION and the ignorance of those around them, speak about it !!!!”

 

Robin Williams, you may no longer be with us but your work will still live on through the screen, through the laughter.Robin williams

Leave a Reply

