Book Challenge Accepted:

So I have decided to take part in the Book Challenge for this year, here is the list:

* A book with more than 500 pages, or close 

* A classic romance

* A book that became a  movie

* A book published this year

* A book with a number in the title

* A book written by someone under 30

* A book with nonhuman characters

*A funny book

* A book by a female author

* A mystery or thriller

* A book with a one-word title

* A book of short stories

* A book set in a different country

* A non fiction book

A popular author’s first book

* A book from a author you love but haven’t read yet

* A book a friend recommended

* A Pulitzer prize-winning book

* A book based on a true story

* A book at the bottom of your to read list

* A book your mom loves

* A book that scares you

* A book more than 100 years old

* A book based entirely on its cover

* A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t

* A memoir

* A book  you can finish in the same day

* A trilogy

* A book with antonyms in the title

* A book that came out the year you were born

* A book with bad reviews or no reviews

* A book from your childhood

* A book with a love triangle

* A book set somewhere you always wanted to visit

*A book set in the future

* A book set in high school

* A book with a color in the title

* A book that made you cry

* A book with magic

* A graphic novel

* A book by and author you’ve never read before

* A book you own but have never read

* A book set during Christmas

* A book that takes place in your hometown

* A book that was originally written in a different language

* A book written by an author with your same initials

* A play

* A banned book

* A book based on or turned into a TV show

* A book you started but never finished.

This is going to take me forever, but I am going to give it a go. I will add to this post, what I have read and also a small review when I have finished reading. My first chosen book is :

  • A book you started but never finished – The Horse Whisperer (By Nicholas Evans) 

Wow, what can i say about this book. At first it took me quite a few chapters to get into it, but once i was in and the last page was upon me i dreaded it. The story even though in parts was predictable, was heart wrenching til the very last words on the very last page.                                                          images

  •  A book you can finish in the same day (I read many short books on the evening of the 05/01/2015 –

What The Fox Learnt (Illustrated) (Four fables from Aesop) I found this an interesting read even though it’s targeted for a much younger audience. I will be definitely giving this to my son to read as the fables teaches morals that can be used in everyday life.  The only problem with this book is that I was getting into it and before I knew it the three fables had ended.  The illustrations are a lovely companion for the beautiful written words.

download

The Swineherd (By Hans Christian Andersen)

I do love the tales from Hans Christian Andersen and this one was such a good read. The story is thought provoking and by the end of the book you are thinking that’s a good lesson learnt. The Prince wants to marry the Emperors daughter, but she is having none of it even though she is lavished in magical gifts. You start to think good on her she isn’t going to let someone buy her affection, but  then you realise the type of character she really is.

61anduDYzsL

The Raven (By Edgar Allan Poe) I love the way Poe has a way with words, all rhythmic and sing-song like. So fun with its word play yet so serious with its content: love, loss and death. There is so much depth and meaning within the words and the repetitions. This is one of my favourite poems and of course the making of Poe. I enjoyed the biography at the end of this book. Learnt a lot about Poe I didn’t know Some things are really shocking I tell you. You cannot deny though that Poe even though in his life he was a struggling writer, until the publication of The Raven, he is a literary genius.  This kindle copy I read included such beautiful engravings that complement the poem to its up-most fullest.

download (1)Rikki-Tikki-Tavi (By Rudyard Kipling) This story I just loved it! How could you not? I don’t want to give too much away but I was hooked. This was sweet and sentimental yet vicious and thought provoking.  This is one that I am going to read with my son. I know he will love this  as much as I did. I think this is one I need to buy for the bookcase. There is nothing like holding a real book when reading a literary masterpiece. 41l7BOYDLiL._UY250_

  • A Pulitzer prize-winning book- Angela’s Ashes (By Frank McCourt)

This book was such an amazing read. Also making me realise that i do indeed miss the feel of paper between my fingers as i turn pages after page. This memoir had me living through all sorts of emotions during the few days it took me to read it. I am very eager to read more of his work. And in my naivitiy didn’t know that Frank McCourt had died until i was searching for his next book online. I was saddened by this news as i could carry on reading his words forever.

51QFDFRB0RL

  • A graphic novel:  Return to Labyrinth

Being a fan of the original and only Labyrinth film. Please no remakes or prequels or sequels. No dashing of my childhood memories of watching the film weekly. This is one film that needs to be left alone. Saying that if they did this I would be a traitor to myself and watch whatever was made.

The graphic novels  follow on from the film. They are very cheesy at points, but a good read and the art work is amazing.

e75db716acbb099ec9993baf48c880d8

  • A Trilogy: The ll AM Trilogy (Christopher Buecheler’s)

I got the first one has a freebie on Amazon for the kindle. I enjoyed it that much I paid for the other two. They were such a good read; a different take on vampires.

cover_trilogy

*A play: Wicked (Gregory Maguire)

This book was Wicked, obvious wording there. I loved it and it hit it bang on the head to never judge a book by its cover, or a witch by her colour.

9780061350962_custom-s6-c30

* A book with magic: The Swordhand Omnibus (2 in 1) My Swordhand is Singing/ The Kiss of Death (Marcus Sedgwick)

I was a bit sceptical about this book at first, but once I got into this very easy to read book I found I was enjoying the storyline.  A little predictable at points, but still I really enjoyed it.

download

* A memoir:  To Whom It May Concern: A Memoir of a Foster Child (Laurie Kast- Klein)

I love reading true life stories, this was a lovely read following Lauris’s childhood.  Sometimes I felt it could have been written more in depth, but then I always think maybe this is all she could manage which in my opinion was brave enough.

416GYsvD1ZL._AA160_

* A book set during Christmas : Bah Humbug ( Heather Horrocks)

This book was a sweet Christmas love story, reminded me so very much of the films I use to watch with my mum over the Christmas period. The good kind of predictability!

12749487

*A book with a number in the title: The Four Streets (Nadine Dorries)

I am a bit of a nosey parker hehe! So this book fed my senses when it came to reading about all the characters on the four streets. What happens in the street stays on the street! It was nice to see a community come together in hard times. I just had to read the rest of her books in the series and I can’t wait for the next one to be available.

Also read: Hide Her Name & Run To Him.

51Kgw2jr7eL._AA160_

* A book that was originally written in a different language: The Diary Of A Young Girl Anne Frank (Anne Frank)

This book was not what I expected really, but at the same time I did not know what I expected. I enjoyed the read, the writer Anne Frank really took you back to that point in time. Her story was a sad one, what happened to her and everyone in the annex afterwards was even sadder.

anne-frank-diary-of-a-young-girl

* A book of short stories:  Here Be Monsters- An Anthology of Monster Tales

Strange, bizarre, a bit squeamish, a bit twisted, but completely unique, a very good read. A gem of an anthology.

51vgQDzNNUL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

* A book by a female author: Gypsy and the Cat Boy and Other Stories Paperback (by Geraldine Ward)

Here is a link to a review I have done:

https://sealtales.wordpress.com/2015/04/13/a-book-review-gypsy-and-the-cat-boy-and-other-stories-paperback-by-geraldine-ward/

download

* A book set in a different country: In a New York Minute (By Claudia Carroll)

9780008139827

Visit here for a full review on this book:

https://sealtales.wordpress.com/2015/07/03/a-book-review-in-a-new-york-minute-by-claudia-carroll

* A book with bad reviews or no reviews: Enough (By Kelsey Cox)

81pha4th1iL._SL1500_

Short, but accurate! A young girl’s struggle with having an eating disorder.

* A book that made you cry: My Name Is….Jane (By Tracy Badenhorst)

25085180

Visit here for a full review on this book:

* A book by and author you’ve never read before: Picking Up The Pieces (By Laura Lawrence)

51Wp6yHqWuL._UY250_

Visit here for a full review on this book:

  • A book based entirely on its cover: The Perfect Treat: Heart-warming Short Stories For Cold Winter Nights…(By Miranda Dickinson, Claudia Carroll, Julia Williams,  Mhairi McFarlane and Liz Trenow)

the-perfect-treat

Visit here for a full review on this book:

*A book with more than 500 pages or close to:  Stories on the Go: 101 Very Short Stories by 101 Authors (By Micah Ackerman, Caddy Rowland, Monica La Porta, Sam Kates, Lanette Curington, Ela Lond, Livia Harper, Griffin Carmichael, Selina Fenech, Mark Gardner, Ellisa Barr, Marilyn Vix, Jean Louise, Sheryl Fawcett, Nathan Williams, K.D. Hendriks, Wendy C. Allenn (Eelkat), Lindy Moone, Andrew Ashling, David J. Normoyle, Jack Lusted, H.S. Stone, Craig Halloran, Cherise Kelley, George Berger, Jamie Campbell, Amelia Smith, H.S. St.Ours, Melisse Aires, Cora Buhlert, Philip Harris, Emily Martha Sorensen, Raquel Lyon, Samuel Clements, Dulce Rolindeax, Julie Ann Dawson, J.T. Hall, Roz Marshall, Vincent Trigili, J.E. Taylor, Hugh Howey, Samuel Peralta, Daniel R. Marvello, John L. Monk, Hudson Owen, Stella Wilkinson, Susan C. Daffron, Anya Kelly, Rachel Aukes, Anya Allyn, Zelah Meyer, Nicolas Wilson, Jennifer Lewis, Toni Dwiggins, Derek Neville, D.D. Parker, Keith Rowland, Ruth Nestvold, P.D. Singer, Quinn Richardson, Peter J. Michaels, Daniel Wallock, Thea Atkinson, Lisa Grace, Matt Ryan, Vanna Smythe, Geraldine Evans, MeiLin Miranda, Beverly Farr, Sarah L. Carter, Tony Bertauski, Edward M. Grant, Misti Wolanski, Erik Feka, Dee Gabbledon, Becca Price, Arrington Flynn, L.E. Parin, Darrin Perrez, Frank Zubek, Rachel Elizabeth Cole, Matthew W. Grant, Michael Coorlim, Maren Hayes, Tony Held, Allan Körbes, Tiffany Cherney, Landon Porter, Kathy Molyneaux, Drew Avera, SB Jones, Bob Summer, E.A. Linden, Sarra Cannon, Carol Kean, Kristy Tate, Jos van Brussel, John March, Nadia Nader, R.M. Prioleau, Joel Ansel)

61BCfNaE5AL._AA324_PIkin4,BottomRight,-54,22_AA300_SH20_OU35_

Visit here for a full review on this book:

One thought on “Book Challenge Accepted:

Leave a Reply

