ENDOMETRIOSIS AWARENESS!! MARCH 2015

Endo Ribbon

Today is the second day of Endometriosis Awareness Month 2015. I am proud to see our yellow fighters in full form, parading yellow with pride. They are no longer hiding but showing the world that we are here, and WE need help, we need support, we need a cure!

Endometriosis, What is it?

Endometriosis is a painful chronic disease that affects millions of ladies worldwide, this causes daily suffering.  Endometriosis is formed when the Endometrium, tissue similar to that  which lines the uterus grows on the outside of the uterus.  It is usually found on the abdomen, Fallopian tubes, and ovaries, but it has been evidently found on the bowel, bladder, vagina, cervix, vulva, arm, thigh and lungs.  Ladies battle for support from the medical professionals for diagnosis and treatment.

  • Many years I spent suffering trying to get help with my pain. I was called a liar, a hypochondriac, you are not dying, told to go get a job and focus on the positive things, and this was the remarks I received from medical professionals.  It took many more years suffering in silence, worried I would get the same responses if I seek medical attention before I was diagnosed. I always said the lady doctor who diagnosed me and sent me to the gynecologist saved my life, because in my eyes she did. I really did think I was going insane.  The pain I was suffering was unbelievable; many times I would just collapse because my body couldn’t handle the torture it was being put through.

Every woman suffers with menstruation, yes, unless they have gone into menopause naturally or not so naturally by the form of menopause induced medicines.

* Periods?? Why don’t you just stop them! Problem fixed! Ah not so simple my love.

The menopause induced medicines and most of the hormonal treatments can only be used for periods of time; you can’t stay on these medications forever.  Plus being on these medications causes other problems. Plus not everyone reacts well with the treatments, so they have to stop, or can’t take it in the first place.  If you already have endometriosis taking treatments like these will not cure them, as there is no cure.  But what if you want to have a baby? During the time you are trying to conceive can be a nightmare. I know I am there. I feel like my periods are killing me and I am only on my first one since I stopped taking Cerazette a hormonal contraceptive.  This is not normal to have so much pain during menstruation, nor should we just get on with it. The past few days I have been bedridden with pain, nauseas and dizzy and I am pretty sure I have lost more blood than my body should be able to cope with.  I know the response from the doctor, is to go back on the treatments, but is that fair really?!

Leave a Reply

