My Thoughts on Helen Minazza’s Poetry Book “A Little Bit of Everything”

51bB8kNX-7L._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_I really do love poetry! A whole world of imagination unfolds within some sort of neatly wrapped poetic form or individual style. It’s more than words. In my opinion, poetry is art in the written format; it can be interpreted in many ways dependant on the readers imagination and intellectual background.  It’s a song where the music is played in the mind of the reader.

A Little Bit of Everything written by Helen Minazza is just that – a little bit of everything! Having dabbled in poetry myself, I know it takes a lot of brain-power to create just one poem. To create fifty is a tremendous achievement! Well done Helen! The book is great value for money. I just love the font, graphic and colour used on the cover.

Here are some of my thoughts on some of the poems and hopefully no spoilers have slipped in.  I read the book three times. Why three times you ask? With poetry I think that a second reading should be obligatory, as you may have missed something in the first reading.  So why the third reading? Some poems work better read out aloud, so I tried that. I found I never got bored with any of the poems, which is unusual for me. Just to reiterate these are my views on the poems and may differ from that of the author and other readers.

  • “Apparition” uses the senses to tell of lost love and loneliness. I love the way the story is told and the many images it creates.
  • “Listen” is a short, snappy, best read out aloud kind of poem.
  • “My Boys” is one of many sentimental poems. It’s very sweet, but I think it may have been overly descriptive and could have been improved slightly by condensing it ( ‘less is more’). I love the line “before was just playing at love.” I could relate being a Mother myself. There is no stronger bond than a Mother’s love for her child.
  • “Shadows” I think most people could relate to. When I had finished reading the poem I had many questions and I was left wanting to know more details.  Some poems can be turned into longer poems or stories. I think this is one of them.
  • “Pedestal of Light” is one of my favourites that I have read many times in silence and out loud. I like the use of language and repetition. It would be interesting to know what Helen thought when she wrote this. I think it is about the death of a loved one and unresolved issues. You’re encouraged to examine your own life.
  • “Questionable” gets you thinking. Would it be best to know everything and never have the opportunity learn again? Knowledge is power yes, but learning is like food for the brain.
  • “B4 11” is just brilliant! I was sat in a coffee shop reading this and I snorted tea out of my nose…gross right! I thought this is so me! Before noon does not exist for me, especially because I have the chronic invisible illness, Fibromyalgia.
  • “Lost in Meaning” could have been written about me. I often have difficulty finding the right words. “Fibro fog” strikes again.
  • “Dilapidated Daffodil” is a poem that you must read many times to appreciate. I love the line “You are the subject of my suspicion.”
  • “Unicorn” is just a lovely little poetic tale.

The use of language is simplistic. The poems in terms of style and form are lacking exactly that, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. I think sometimes you just have to go with the flow and that is what this author has done. When I write poetry I always start with a poetic form and by the end it has become something totally different.  We don’t know what journey Helen experienced during her writing and thought processes. The majority of the poems are written in first person allowing the reader to gain a deeper connection with them. I love how each poem has an important message to share and conveys in-depth feelings. In many of the poems there is not a lot of room for imagination and analysis. I think sometimes to be able to read between the lines and have a sense of mystery adds to a poem’s greatness. Even though some of the poems are lacking these components they do have positive components too. They  provide room for relating one’s own circumstances, questioning, learning, empathy, sympathy, gratitude and inspiration. Most of Helen’s poems are thought provoking.  Overall I feel Helen tends to get a little bit wordy; less is more especially with poetry writing.

My favourite poems are: Pedestal of Light, Unicorn, and Lost in Meaning, Dilapidated Daffodil and B4 11. I really enjoyed reading this book and recommend it.

 

Check out Helen’s website: www.helenminazza.com

And her Facebook page: www.facebook.com/helenminazza

Click the link below to order your copy today: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Little-Bit-Everything-Helen-Minazza-ebook/dp/B00O2AZJFA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1465204135&sr=8-1&keywords=helen+minazza

Also click the link below to order Helen’s new book A Little Bit of Light and Dark, which of course is on my to read list: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Little-Bit-Light-Dark-ebook/dp/B018MZE7X0/ref=pd_sim_351_1?ie=UTF8&dpID=51%2BCBIAfLwL&dpSrc=sims&preST=_UX300_PJku-sticker-v3%2CTopRight%2C0%2C-44_OU02_AC_UL160_SR100%2C160_&refRID=Z8C6957T85GFAWA5AF0Z

(With thanks to Erica Latham for helping edit this “Fibro Fog” has been at an all-time high.)

 

Leave a Reply

